Guide to the ELCA Region 1 Archives

The ELCA Region 1 Archives serves as the repository for the permanent records of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, and Washington. The Archives includes records related to synods, congregations, clergy, Lutheran missions and organizations, and ELCA predecessor bodies. For more information or to schedule a research appointment, contact

Conference, Council, and Synod Records

The below contain listings of the physical records pertaining to each conference, council, or synod. These records are not available online at this time.

Congregation Files


Publications can be read by clicking on the preview image.

Columbia Lutherans - a newspaper of the Lutheran Columbia Conference published 1900 through 1936. Up until 1929, issues are in Norwegian. 92 issues available online.

Synod Newsletters - various newsletters distributed by the synods of ELCA Region 1.

Regional Clergy

Foss Family Papers - Listing of the papers of the Foss family. Several members of the Foss family were pastors and administrators in the Lutheran Church at the congregation and synod level. Family members were also involved with Pacific Lutheran University from its founding as students, board members, and faculty. For a detailed description of the Foss family, see here.
In addition to the listings of records, the Foss Photographs are available online.

Browse all ELCA Region I Archives holdings

Browse all ELCA Region I Archives digital objects